BSK unplugged

I had an unexpected break for the last 24-36 hours: bigsurkate was completely unplugged … No email, no Internet, no TV – only my views from here on top. Nothing of any significance going on in the Tassajara Fire was visible, and nothing visible anywhere else for 50 miles or so, or I would have been on the horn with my co-administrator. When I finally got her email response to one I had sent blind, she let me know she is available, in case this happens again, and we need to get info out.

The Tassajara fire has grown very little and is now 15% contained. Much of the fuel that would have been feeding this fire was consumed in the Basin Complex Fire of 2008. So, despite temperatures, accessibility problems, and creek and wilderness issues, this is probably one of those “good” burns. The cause of the fire is under investigation.

Life in the Wilds of Big Sur … What can I say?

I felt completely at odds for much of this time, but eventually, I surrendered to the goddess, and did other things today. tonight I can catch up on the 100 emails, the sites i visit each day for news and-information and all that jazz.

Tomorrow I have been invited to the Hermitage for a blessing Mass for the new prior, and then I might check out the new menu at Lucia. I will use this opportunity to get shots of the rock shed and bring you up-to-date on this incredible project. Hopefully, Sunday.

I did use some of today to organize some of my 4000 photos on my iPad …so when fire season is over, I’ll share some of my favorites. Enjoy your weekend.

~ by bigsurkate on July 19, 2013.

8 Responses to “BSK unplugged”

  1. Wishing you a good weekend, too.

  2. There was so much vicarious pleasure from your message, I felt transported to a kind of zenny-one-with-the-universe tranquility on your behalf, with your behalf. There’s way too much uproar on the globe these days and unplug is a very good idea, and I too for at least 12 hours also turned away. We are being pushed into strife that is not next door and not ours and really one gets sick of being told what a wastrel one is when one is not….by a world increasingly Honey Boo-Boo, and less and less poet genius. If once-great cities want to collapse and ancient cultures go on murderous rampages, stop doing it on my back. I’m sick of the planet awash in self-pity. When it comes to my backyard I’ll deal with it. I have a life.

  3. Oh, I so love your poetry, your art, your clarity. What a gem!

    bigsurkate, on her iPad

  4. Right on Holycowgirl! Cheers

  5. Enjoy your weekend Kate. And congrats to the new Prior, very exciting to have Cyprian in that spot!

  6. Mwah! back atcha you fabulous adventuress.

  7. My computer was down for a week last month and I ended up painting a watercolor of a sailboat out on the open sun-setting sea. I sent it to my dad for Father’s Day!

  8. Happy to help anytime. Hope to see the real deal here soon. Be well my friend.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,113 other followers

