Notices

The Big Sur blog that has been covering fires, the weather, road conditions, and other events since 2008. Send your news and photos, and we will do our best to post them. send to: kwnovoa@mac.com

HEADER PHOTO…is one of my own.

TO DONATE TO BIG SUR FIRE VICTIMS CLICK ON THIS LINK: bigsurfire2013.org
(Damn, the link is not working, and I’ve tried everything! How about just copying into your browser?) don’t be confused – it is THIS LINK (mine) not CPOAs that isn’t working.
(CPOA’s donation site)

Remember, for entries, it is 760×151 pixels.

~ by bigsurkate on November 13, 2013.

29 Responses to “Notices”

  1. I believe there is a climate of “use” these days…permission or not. Do what you can to make the news sites deal with their ‘lapse’…it will be worth it….even though it’s a pain to have to fight for your rights. Much support in this sent your way.

  2. As a pro photographer and regular visitor to Big Sur, I echo the value of image protection. The process of registering images for copyright at the Library of Congress is really easy, and it helps assure people don’t steal images, cause the image owner can recoup legal fees if images are registered with LofC. 90% of the abusers of image copyright laws can afford to pay for them – they should be contributing to you and/or fire budgets.
    Thanks
    Paul S

  3. KK…as troubling as all this is, you have a photo image of the devastation and a book! You have held up under all the seige my friend…stay well.

  4. Hi Kate, can you give me the location/source of this 4/17/09 fire restriction announcement please? Thanks.

  5. Mark, I sent you the link privately, but for others, my source was two-fold. One, was a press release from the USFS on April 10, 2009, when the restrictions went into effect, and two, a sign posted at the bottom of Plaskett. I clarified (as did the USFS in a second press release) that these restrictions are for undeveloped campgrounds, not the developed ones such as Plaskett Creek and Kirk Creek Campgrounds. Hope this helps to resolve the ambiguity.

    Frankly, I don’t worry about developed campgrounds. When restrictions also affect them, as has happened in the past, the Park Management Co. is very good about making the restrictions clear. As to Big Creek, I agree, a phone call is in order.

  6. Prewitt Ridge was one of my favorite camp sites in california that ive ever been to and my favorite sunset to date. The sunset over the bed of clouds was breath-taking. Thanks for all your help. Isnt it funny how we ran into each other over the internet?

    my blog with an introductory shot and more to come:
    http://12fv.com/2009/07/ocean-of-clouds.html

    thanks again bigsurkate

  7. New banner is fantastic! A great “Fall” pic!

  8. Your best banner photo yet. Unbelievable.

  9. Kate your new banner is amazing! KUDOS

  10. I see that banner IN REAL LIFE, many times during my commute from the school…particularly at the top of Hurricane Point!!!
    You got it on camera! Wow!!

  11. 60″ an hour or so south and “ONLY” 40 ” on Pfeiffer Ridge so far this year! It continually amazes us how different the mini-climes can be. John & Anne

  12. that is a fantastic header

  13. WOW, Kate! I love the yellow tulips, one nextto the other and each hardly discernible from the other, but each needed to make this work. Reminds me of a trip with my Mother to Holland, Michigan when I was 12 years old. Beautiful!

  14. NWS has issued a Hazardous Weather Outlook for next weekend. they forecast several strong storms with heavy rain and wind, beginning Friday. They suggest that emergency responders and others living in areas that could be affected, keep alert and monitor the weather forecasts as things develop during this week. This fits in with the La Nina pattern, of powerful cold storms during December. This could be a “big one”, and I am going to watch those approaching cyclonic systems in the satellite photos carefully.

  15. Just talked with the UPS center in Monterey. There will be no UPS deliveries this week. They, like the post office are discussing a work around; maybe redirecting deliveries to SLO county and driving up from there. They said to call back on Monday to see what they figured out. I plan to call and will let you know what I hear.
    Big Sur Kate, you are doing a heroic job of helping the community hang together. Thank you.

  16. Just wondering why nobody noticed that the roadbed was undermined when they were pouring all that new blacktop over the cracks in the road…

  17. Kate: the “leave a reply” boxes are out of whack… no place to type “name” unless you move everything down…

  18. Well Kate. Here you are doing some wonderful work with your blog and keeping us informed. Much more satisfying than flickr. It is great to see your work again. Thanks for all the updates.
    lindayvonne

  19. Big Sur state of mind–u going,u comming,u staying–or you have not left yet?

  20. Hi Kate,

    There is recent news of State Park planned closures…on the list is Limekiln, Garrapata, etc. There is a petition at the California State Parks Foundation that your readers may be interested in signing and sending.

    Karen

  21. Ah, I’m not in Big Sur (but wish I were!), but I want to say thanks for all you do, Kate. Big Sur holds a special place in my heart and it always will. Love the header pic!

  22. I LOVE the iris, Kate.

  23. I adore the new header image!!! Thank you!

  24. Welcome Deb!

  25. William Dawson, long time Big Sur resident passed away today. Will let you all know when & where to come and celebrate his life.

  26. are those shots from the big house.Just trying to figure out what direction I am looking in.

  27. Kate,

    I first went through Big Sur in 1968 on my way back from playing the Fillmore. Things were going well. Maybe that’s why fate sent me there. Through the years we’ve camped in the backcountry for weeks at a time, sat on the beaches that you can actually get to and spent almost every Christmas with the family there over the last 30 years, since our younger son was created. Yes, in Big Sur.

    I’ve written numerous songs in and about Big Sur and remained a musician throughout my life. But to those who know, a musician’s life often turns in different directions when trying to make a living.
    It is such a change that brings me to this letter. Totally by accident I became a Public Insurance Adjuster. I work for the insured against the insurance companies. It suits my musician’s nature to go against the machine and it gives me a chance to argue professionally and not at home with my wife.

    Please, let me help. My advice is free. If I work for you I will charge a fair and reasonable amount.
    I’ve lived through the fires, the earthquake, on the ground working New Orleans after Katrina, through tornados in Missouri and I have experienced where you are right now,

    The first thing I usually ask people is “have you cried yet?” When we are faced with life threatening situations we try to be strong because that’s what it takes to get ourselves and our loved ones to safety.
    But you can’t keep being strong and keep this emotion locked in, it must be released. Have a good cry!

    I know this letter will be met with great skepticism, but I accept that. It comes with the job.

    When years ago we first went to the backcountry on the Pine Ridge Trail there was a sign. It said “Those who know don’t tell. Those who tell don’t know.”

    With that said, please call me for advice. I understand.

    John Canning
    310-663-2658

  28. Big Sur is an amazing place. We’ve written about our love for it on our blog.

    http://themidatlanticlounge.wordpress.com/2014/06/20/surviving-the-mystique-of-big-sur/

  29. I’ve been going to Big Sur since the 60s and usually every Christmas and was there during the last fire. At that time, I offered my advice free to anyone who needed it. By now many residents probably realize that the insurance companies are not their best friends. I still offer that free advise and look forward to being there soon.
    John canning, Public Insurance Adjuster 310-663-2658
    (that means we work only for the insured, not the insurance companies)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,113 other followers